The Barrington Area Library Board of Trustees met January 12 and appointed Kathleen A. Peterson to fill a vacancy on their board. Peterson is a former teacher, and also a former employee of the library working as a page from 1998-2008 after retiring from teaching.

Peterson's term will carry though April 5, 2011 when the position will come up for election.

Peterson fills the position vacated by Denise Rouse who stepped down in September to attend college full time. The library board consists of seven members who all serve on a volunteer basis. President of the Barrington Public Library District Board is Richard J. Ryan and vice-president is Donald F. Minner. Members of the board work directly with Detlev Pansch, Executive Director of the Barrington Area Library, to provide library services and to insure the library's role as a center of information and public programs for all ages.

The Barrington Area Library covers the largest geographic district in the state of Illinois, 72 square miles, and serves approximately 46,500 patrons. The library district includes all or part of the following communities: Algonquin, Barrington, Barrington Hills, Deer Park, Fox River Grove, Hoffman Estates, Kildeer, Lake Barrington, Lake Zurich, North Barrington, Palatine, Port Barrington, South Barrington, Tower Lakes, and some unincorporated areas.