Databases highlighted in blue do not permit remote access.
Adult Learning Center: Resume review and live tutoring sessions from trained adult education instructors.
ALLDATA: Automotive diagnostic and repair information. Includes technical service bulletins, diagrams, and illustrations. Updated every 30 days. Available only in the library.
America's News: Find information on topics related to business, education, health, government and more. America's News searches over 600 local & national news publications including Barrington Courier-Review, Daily Herald, Chicago Sun-Times and USA Today.
America's Obituaries and Death Notices: Newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the country.
Barrington Courier-Review (Current): Full-text local news articles from 9/28/1995 to the present.
Barrington Courier-Review Index: Index to news articles from 1970-2004, and births, deaths, and marriages from 1890-2006.
Barrington Courier-Review (Historical): Full-page reproductions from 1914-1921, and April 23, 1925-November 13, 1930.
BookFlix: Video storybooks, interactive nonfiction books, puzzles, games, and author information. Includes Spanish language materials.
Books24x7: Computer e-books from top information technology and business publishers on web development, graphic design, programming, e-commerce, marketing, management, and other topics.
Business Searching Interface: Access more than 1,150,000 company profiles, company financials, industry profiles, market research, & SWOT analyses.
Business Source Complete: Complete a comprehensive search of over 1,800 trade journals & general business magazines, case studies, and books.
The Careers College™: A career services program that provides online job search courses and tools along with a virtual career resource center dedicated to helping job seekers, college undergraduates and graduates, and individuals in transition land the ideal job in any economy.
Chicago Tribune (Current): Full-text news articles and obituaries from 1985 to the present.
Chicago Tribune (Historical): Full-page and article reproductions of every available issue from 1849-1989.
Consumer Reports: Remote access to full-text issues is now available through MasterFILE Complete. Click search within this publication, or read full text issues by clicking on the year and issue. User guide [VIDEO]
Consumer Reports: Nonprofit ratings of popular products, full text of the current issue, plus an archive of reports from the past 4 years. The library subscribes to premium content; please ask a librarian for access. For remote access to Consumer Reports, please use MasterFILE Complete.
Consumers' Checkbook: Independent, nonprofit evaluations of the quality and prices of local service firms and stores, such as auto repair shops, plumbers, dentists, banks, and insurance companies.
Consumers' Checkbook Healthcare: Login and click the health care link to gain access to Consumers' Checkbook Healthcare. Doctors are reviewed by other doctors and consumers.
CultureGrams: Up-to-date information on cultures and customs of the world.
Daily Herald: Local and regional news articles from 1995 to the present.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos: Una enciclopedia de conocimientos generales. Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas.
Encyclopedia Britannica: Full-text articles from the complete encyclopedia, the Britannica Book of the Year, and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia.
ERIC: Journal articles and reports in education.
FirstSearch: Many full-text articles from magazines, medical journals, government publications, and other sources.
Fold3: Access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Foundation Directory Online: Discover grant funding opportunities for your organization and access information about grantmakers from our community and across the world.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online: Use this tool to secure individual funding for scholarships, student loans, arts and cultural projects and more!
Foundation Maps: Maps is the ultimate visual tool to find funding broken down by geographic location and sector.
Gale Courses: Barrington Area Library cardholders can enroll in courses ranging from beginning drawing to accounting & finance. Courses are offered once a month, span 6 weeks, and are led by an expert instructor who will be responsive to each student's learning needs.
Next session begins August 17.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
HelpNow!: Live one-on-one online tutoring service for homework help and writing assistance. Includes Spanish language tutoring. Grades 3-12. Available everyday from 2:00-11:00 p.m.
HelpNow! Test Center: This exam center helps you prepare for ACT, SAT, PSAT, AP, ASVAB, and TOEFL iBT exams.
HeritageQuest: U. S. census records for 1790-1930, many family and local histories, and genealogy periodical articles.
Hoover's: Looking for Hoover's? We have upgraded to Mergent Intellect for in-library and at home use.
LexisNexis: News, business, and legal information including coverage of over 44 million U.S. and international companies, case law, statutes, and regulations, and access to over 1,000 national, regional, and international news publications.
NEW! Little Pim: This language learning service is just for kids! Choose from 10 languages, including Spanish, Chinese (Mandarin), French, and English. Adobe Flash Player required on device.
Lynda.com: Barrington Area Library cardholders now have access to premier technology, business, and management videos. With over 3,400 video courses taught by experts in their fields, you will find tutorials on QuickBooks, Microsoft Office, Adobe Suite, CAD, 3D printing and more! Tablet/Mobile: Use browser to gain access. The app is not available with the library's subscription.
Mango Languages: Learn a new language: French, Italian, Spanish, German, Russian, Japanese, Greek, Brazilian Portuguese; as well as English for Spanish, Portuguese, and Polish speakers. Download the free Mango Mobile Library Edition app from Apple's App Store or Google Play Android app.
MasterFILE Complete: Search more than 2,200 full-text magazines, journals, & newspapers including Consumer Reports.
MEDLINEPlus: All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
New! Mergent Intellect: Company, industry, and market information on over 245 million private businesses.
Morningstar Investment Research Center: Selection tools and information on stocks and mutual funds
Naxos Music Library: Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 86,420 albums with more than 1,259,200 tracks, including standard and rare repertoire.
New York Times (Historical): Full-page and article reproductions from 1851-2009.
NoveList: Book recommendations for all teens and adults.
NoveList K - 8: Book recommendations for kids in grades K - 8.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues.
PowerSearch: Simultaneously search Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Public Records Online: Public filings of new businesses, new homeowners, home sales, home foreclosures, and bankruptcies in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will counties.
ReferenceUSA: Addresses, phone numbers, officers, and SIC codes for 14 million U. S. businesses.
Residential Database: Phone numbers for 120 million U. S. households.
ScienceFlix: Access hands-on projects and more than 4,500 articles in the premier Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM) digital resource.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage: Business and investment information with full-text of S&P's Industry Surveys; Stock and Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook and more.
TrueFlix: Explore history and science through interactive e-books, videos and activities.
Value Line: Information and analysis on stocks and mutual funds.
Wall Street Journal: Coverage from 1984 to the present.
Westlaw: Full-text of Smith-Hurd Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated, Illinois Decisions, West's Illinois Administrative Code, standard Illinois legal and business forms, and other resources. Available only in the library.
World Book: Full-text, interactive encyclopedia articles, current events, maps, timelines, periodical articles, multimedia features, and more for all ages. Includes versions for young children and Spanish speakers.
World Book Kids: Full-text articles and multimedia for early elementary students.
WorldCat: Search other libraries for books, DVDs, CDs, and other materials. To get to WorldCat click on the down arrow to the right of Jump to Advanced Search and highlight WorldCat.