1520

VILLAGE OF NORTH BARRINGTON

BOARD MEETING - DECEMBER _3, 1959

RES.

 $\underline{\text{NO}}$. The first meeting of the Village Board of Trustees of the Village of North Barrington, Illinois, was held in the home of the Village President, C. R. Anderson, at 114 Mohawk Drive, North Barrington, Illinois, on December 3, 1959.

After the president and all trustees were sworn into office by Village Clerk Grayce Scharfenberg, the president opened the meeting at 8:30 p.m. with a prayer for guidance and good judgment in any actions undertaken.

It was unanimously agreed that the Board would hold regular meetings once a month, and special meetings when needed and called for by the president. It was further agreed that effort be made to hold all Board meetings in a public building and North Barrington Elementary School was proposed as a preferred location.

To determine the term of office for each trustee lots were drawn with the result that Messrs. Vincent Bliss, J. A. Dattilo and W. Hutchinson drew two year terms, and Messrs. Nelson Forrest, D. T. Krumlinde and A. Urich drew four year terms.

Mr. Bliss informed the Board that he felt one of the foremost problems confronting the Board was of public relations with the village, and in the area surrounding the village. He suggested the local citizenry be invited to attend meetings and discussions, and to state their preferences and ideas. It was agreed that effort be made to hold such meetings.

After a discussion on the importance of establishing the office of Planning Commission, Trustee Hutchinson motioned that a Village Planning Commission, consisting of a chairman and four members, be established for the purpose of studying the use of land in and around the Village and present their findings to the Board for adoption of ordinances relating to zoning and subdivision regulations, and perimeter influence in those areas of control. Trustee Urick seconded the motion.

By roll call in favor: Bliss, Battilo, Forrest, Hutchinson, Krumlinde, Urick and Anderson.

Not in favor:

None.

Trustee Forrest made a motion that the position of Building and Zoning Commissioner be created and Trustee Bliss seconded the motion.

By roll call in favor: Bliss, Dattilo, Forrest, Hutchinson, Krumlinde, Urick and Anderson

Not in favor:

None.

RES.

NO.

Trustee Forrest also motioned that the term of office for all president and board appointments be decided at a later date. This was seconded by Mr. Bliss and passed unanimously by the Board and President.

Trustee Urich made a motion that the President, Village Clerk, and all Trustees serve without compensation and that all Village appointees likewise be asked to serve on the same basis. Trustee Dattilo seconded the motion, which was passed by unanimous consent of the Board, President and Village Clerk.

President Anderson submitted to the Board for appointment to the Planning Commission:

For Chairman:

William Ehmann

For Members:

Edde Hays

A. I. Jablonski Richard Magner Harold Parsley

By roll call in favor: Bliss, Dattilo, Forrest, Hutchinson, Krumlinde, Urich and Anderson.

Not in favor: None

The president also asked the Board for approval of the appointment of William Ehmanh as Building and Zoning Commissioner. The Board approved unanimously by roll call.

A discussion was held by the Board concerning the establishment of a Board of Zoning Appeals, after which Trustee Krumlinde made a motion to establish a Board of Zoning Appeals consisting of a chairman and four members. The motion was seconded by Trustee Dattilo.

By roll call in favor: Bliss, Dattilo, Forrest, Hutchinson, Krumlinde, Urich and Anderson.

Not in favor: None.

President Anderson submitted for the Board's approval the appointment of the following citizens to the Board of Zoning Appeals:

For Chairman:

John Iverson

For Members:

Ed Lafferty Ken Schmid George Reid Charles James

The Board unanimously approved these appointments subject to their acceptance.

ord

After some discussion on annexation the Board agreed that a letter, setting forth the expectation, hopes and aims of the Board of the Village of North Barrington, be disseminated to the citizens in the Biltmore area east of Route 59, and at a later date consider distributing the information to Lake Barrington citizens in an effort to resolve or clarify any misapprehensions. Each Board member agreed to summarize his own ideas on the matter and send them to Trustee Bliss, who agreed to formulate the proposed letter for consideration by the Board.

The need of police protection was considered and by motion of Trustee Krumlinde the offices of three deputy sheriffs, on comparable level, were proposed. After being seconded by Trustee Forrest the motion was passed unanimously by roll call. The President presented for the Board's approval these deputies, who are presently serving the North Barrington area under the Biltmore Home Owners Association:

Paul Barta Richard Magner Roy Svacha

By roll call in favor: Bliss, Dattilo, Forrest, Hutchinson, Krumlinde, Urich and Anderson.

Not in favor: None.

The Board also considered the need of a Fire Commissioner and Trustee Forrest motioned for the establishment of that office. Trustee Urich seconded the motion and by unanimous consent on roll call the motion for a Fire Commissioner passed. President Anderson submitted the name of Harold Parsley, present Fire Commissioner under the Biltmore Home Owners Association for the Board's approval.

By roll call in favor: Bliss, Dattilo, Forrest, Hutchinson, Krumlinde, Urich and Anderson.

Not in favor: None.

A discussion on continuation of other services now being furnished under Biltmore Home Owners Association, and annexation proceedings under Biltmore Home Owners Association, was tabled by the Board for a subsequent meeting.

On motion by Trustee Krumlinde, seconded by Trustee Bliss, the Board meeting was adjourned until a date in January to be called by the President.

Respectfully submitted:

Layu Scharfenberg - Village Clerk

cc-Board Members